Up to the Minute..
Countdown! Tomorrow is April 17th;
With the April 17 tax deadline quickly approaching taxpayers should follow these tips to ensure the most efficient and fast processing of their return:
Consider filing electronically instead of using a paper return. E-filed returns provide the taxpayer with the confidence of an accurate return being processed and a quick turn around time if receiving a refund. Taxpayers that e-file will also receive confirmation approximately 24-48 hours after submission that their return was received. To e-file an Oklahoma return the taxpayer must file their federal return at the same time.
Put all required social security numbers on the return. This includes the taxpayer and spouse, as well as any dependents that may be listed in relation to claims for the 538S credit. Missing, incorrect or illegible social security numbers can delay the processing of a tax return.
Double check all math and figures. If filing a paper return taxpayers should double check that they have correctly figure the refund or balance due and have used the right figure from the tax table. Please note, beginning with the 2006 tax year, there is now only one tax table needed for computing taxes on your Oklahoma income tax return.
Attach all required schedules and follow-up forms. Certain information is required in order to timely process both paper and electronic income tax returns. Read the instructions carefully and enclose any schedules or follow-up forms that are requested. Failure to submit certain required documents may delay the processing of your return and increase the amount of time it takes to receive your refund.
File on time; pay on time. This year Oklahoma and federal returns are required to be filed by April 17 th. If e-filing the return needs to be completed and transmitted no later than midnight of the 17 th. To be timely file a paper return should be postmarked no later than April 17 th.
If a taxpayer finds that they will not be able to meet the April 17 th deadline then they can request a six-month extension on Oklahoma Form 504 to file their personal Oklahoma income tax return. This extension only grants taxpayers an additional amount of time to file their return. The extension form does not grant taxpayers an additional amount of time to pay their taxes.
At times a taxpayer may find they have a balance due on their taxes that they are unable to pay in full. When this happens the agency asks that taxpayers pay as much as they are able to at the time of filing. A bill will then be issued for the remaining tax, penalty and interest.
Forms, publications, e-file and payment options, as well as information on a variety of tax topics are available 24 hours a day on the Tax Commission website at www.tax.ok.gov. Although phone lines are busy at this time of year, taxpayers may also call the agency Taxpayer Assistance office in-state toll-free at 1 (800) 522-8165 and press “0” to speak to a representative. Out-of-state callers should dial (405)521-3160 and press “0” to speak to a representative.