homepage graphic go to homepage contact us search the site

Forms & Publications
Online Services
Income Taxes
Business Taxes
Motor Vehicle
Gross Production
Ad Valorem
Payment Options
Reports
Rules & Decisions
How do i...
Meetings
Employment
Frequently Asked Questions
General Agency Information
   

Up to the Minute..

Press Release
June 24, 2009

Tag Renewal Penalty to Increase

New legislation that will become effective July 1, 2009 will change the penalty for most vehicle owners who do not timely title or register their vehicles.

Beginning July 1:

  • if a new or used vehicle is not titled and registered within 30 days from the date of transfer of ownership, both excise tax and registration penalties will be assessed at $1 per day beginning on the 31st day. 
  • if a vehicle’s registration is not renewed after the last day of the month following the tag expiration date, penalty will be assessed in the amount of $1 per day.  The penalty cannot exceed $100. 

For questions concerning the registering or titling of vehicles, boats or outboard motors, please contact your local tag agent, or the Motor Vehicle Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission at (in-state toll-free) (800) 522-8165 extension 13221, or via email at otcmaster@tax.ok.gov.

 

 

Copyright © 2009, Oklahoma Tax Commission
Security Statement | Privacy Statement | Feedback | OK.gov
Last Modified 6/29/2009

 

forms and publications online services Oklahoma income taxes Oklahoma business taxes motor vehicle information payment options OTC reports OTC rules and commission decisions Steps to take for common tax needs meetings schedule Oklahoma tax due dates calendar frequently asked questions Oklahoma ad valorem information general information